It’s time to ban bee-killing pesticides

UPDATE: On November 25, the Ontario government became the first government in North America to announce a plan for regulations to restrict the use of seeds treated with neonicotinoid pesticides. Ontario has proposed reducing use of neonics by 80 per cent by 2017. It is an encouraging step forward in the growing movement to save the bees. Please help keep the momentum going by demanding action from the federal government and other provinces.

There’s been a lot of buzz lately about bee-killing pesticides. Bees have been dying off at alarming rates, and neonicotinoid pesticides are implicated in this decline. Bees aren’t the only victims. “Neonic” pesticides may harm the human brain, nervous system and hormonal system.

In June, an international group of independent scientists released the results of a comprehensive analysis of 800 peer-reviewed studies on neonics — a massive, four-year undertaking. Their conclusion: “…there is clear evidence of harm sufficient to trigger regulatory action.” The assessment highlights serious risks, not only to bees, but to many other beneficial species, including butterflies, earthworms and birds.

Meanwhile, research indicates that neonics do not necessarily increase agricultural yields. So why are we still using them? Last year, Europe announced a moratorium on the use of three neonics on bee-attracting crops.

In Canada, however, these pesticides are still in widespread use. Canadian regulators have confirmed that neonics used on corn seed is a contributing factor to bee die-offs in Ontario and Quebec, but they continue to allow the use of these pesticides.

In the case of clothianidin — a neonic used to treat corn seeds and frequently detected in samples of dead bees — Canadian regulators even signed off on its re-approval last year just as their European counterparts were implementing a ban. That stings!

Take action! French version for Quebec here.

Federal and provincial governments share responsibility for pesticide regulation in Canada. Join us in calling on our regulators to side with the science and ban neonics.

Read more about how you can protect the bees and butterflies.

 

So far 67750 messages have been sent. Let's get to 75000!

Send your Message
"Hon. Rona Ambrose" <rona.ambrose@parl.gc.ca>
"Min. Mary Polak" <env.minister@gov.bc.ca>
"Min. Robin Campbell" <esrd.minister@gov.ab.ca>
"Min. Scott Moe" <smoe@mla.legassembly.sk.ca>
"Min. Gord Mackintosh" <minconws@leg.gov.mb.ca>
"Min. Glen Murray" <gmurray.mpp@liberal.ola.org>
"Min. Randy Delorey" <min_env@gov.ns.ca>
"Min. Danny Soucy" <danny.soucy@gnb.ca>
"Min. Terry French" <terryfrench@gov.nl.ca>
"Min. Janice Sherry" <jasherry@gov.pe.ca>
"Min. Currie Dixon" <currie.dixon@gov.yk.ca>
"Min. J. Michael Miltenberger" <michael_miltenberger@gov.nt.ca>
"Min. Johnny Mike" <info@gov.nu.ca>
"Min. David Heurtel" <dheurtel@assnat.qc.ca>
It’s time to ban bee-killing pesticides
Dear Ministers: I am writing to bring to your attention the findings of a significant new study on neonicotinoid pesticides (“neonics”). On June 25, the International Task Force on Systemic Pesticides – an international group of independent scientists – released the results of a comprehensive analysis of 800 peer-reviewed studies on neonics – a massive, four-year undertaking. This unprecedented scientific assessment confirms harmful effects of neonics on bees and highlights serious risks to many other beneficial species, including butterflies, earthworms and birds. The authors of the study conclude: “…there is clear evidence of harm sufficient to trigger regulatory action.” I am also concerned about possible human health effects of neonics in our food and water. These pesticides may harm the human brain and nervous system. Some are suspected endocrine disrupters linked to harmful effects on reproduction. Last year, Europe announced a moratorium on the use of three neonics on bee-attracting crops. Canada’s Pest Management Regulatory Agency has confirmed that neonics used on corn seed is a contributing factor to bee die-offs in Ontario and Quebec. However, these pesticides remain in widespread use. You can change that. Federal and provincial governments should ban the use and sale of neonics without further delay. Please do your part.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Sign your Message
To learn more about how the David Suzuki Foundation collects, stores and uses your personal information, please read our privacy policy.